New ACT Justice of the Peace Ian Temby. Photograph: lightbulb studio

IAN Temby has been named because the ACT’s latest Justice of the Peace, and Rebecca Christensen SC, Sean Richter, and Dr Gregor Urbas as particular magistrates.

Justice of the Peace Temby will start in his new function on January 30, whereas the three particular magistrates will take up their positions on January 18.

Mr Temby has been practising legislation for 20 years (19 of these in Canberra). He was a member of the Legislation Society Council in 2021-22, and is a companion at Clayton Utz. In his present function as a Commonwealth Authorities public legislation specialist, he has a give attention to administrative legislation recommendation, litigation and dispute decision.

“On behalf of the ACT authorized career, we congratulate Ian Temby on his appointment as a Justice of the Peace of the ACT Justice of the Peace’s Court docket,” mentioned Legislation Society president Farzana Choudhury.

“We additionally lengthen our congratulations to Rebecca Christensen SC, Sean Richter, and Dr Gregor Urbas on their new roles as particular magistrates.”

Who may be trusted?

In a world of spin and confusion, there’s by no means been a extra vital time to help unbiased journalism in Canberra.

If you happen to belief our work on-line and need to implement the facility of unbiased voices, I invite you to make a small contribution.

Each greenback of help is invested again into our journalism to assist hold sturdy and free.

Turn into a supporter


Ian Meikle, editor