Literary prize right down to 4 finalists

The finalists.

FOUR books referring to Australian army, social and struggle historical past have been introduced by the Australian Warfare Memorial as shortlisted finalists for the Les Carlyon Literary Prize.

The $10,000 prize is called in honour of the late historian, writer and journalist Les Carlyon, who was a member of the Council of the Australian Warfare Memorial from Might, 2006, till his passing in March, 2019.

Warfare Memorial director Matt Anderson, described Carlyon as “a grasp storyteller who made a lifelong contribution to each Australian journalism and literature. By his impeccable analysis and readability, Carlyon introduced Australian army historical past to a wholly new viewers.”

The late Les Carlyon

Warfare Memorial head of army historical past Karl James mentioned the subject material of this yr’s entries had ranged from frontier violence to current conflicts. The majority had been non-fiction with sturdy illustration from veterans, household historians, journalists and teachers.

The prize was established in 2020 a solution to assist each rising and established army or struggle historical past writers and to search out and to encourage one of the best storytellers in Australia

Anderson mentioned the judging panel had thought-about literary advantage, the contribution of the work to understanding the Australian expertise of struggle and battle, authenticity and credibility, and originality.

The winner can be introduced on November 22.

The 4 shortlisted works chosen from greater than 30 works submitted are:

  • Xavier Fowler, “Not Taking part in the Sport: Sport and Australia’s Nice Warfare”, Melbourne College Press
  • Stephen Gapps, “Gudyarra: The First Wiradyuri Warfare of Resistance, 1822-1824”, NewSouth Books
  • Christine Helliwell, “Semut”, Penguin Books Australia
  • Ben McKelvey, “Mosul: Australia’s secret struggle contained in the ISIS caliphate”, Hachette Australia