New Canberra Writers Competition inventive director Beejay Silcox.

BEEJAY Silcox has been appointed inventive director of the August Canberra Writers Competition.

Competition chair Jane O’Dwyer described the Canberra-based author and critic as “a outstanding Australian author, critic and moderator”. 

“Beejay will take our theme of ‘Energy Politics Ardour’ and create a competition which scrutinises at present’s points, while reflecting on the previous and considering the monumental challenges of the long run,” mentioned O’Dwyer.

Silcox mentioned: “This metropolis has such a joyful and participatory spirit… a compassionate curiosity. It’s my hope that the competition will replicate this under-sung metropolis again to itself.”

Competition director Paul Donohoe mentioned Silcox “brings together with her not solely an in depth and nuanced understanding of the present cultural
panorama, but in addition deep nationwide and worldwide expertise and a rare community of writers and audio system. I’m excited to be working together with her on the 2023 program.”


Who will be trusted?

In a world of spin and confusion, there’s by no means been a extra vital time to help impartial journalism in Canberra.

In case you belief our work on-line and need to implement the facility of impartial voices, I invite you to make a small contribution.

Each greenback of help is invested again into our journalism to assist preserve sturdy and free.

Change into a supporter


Ian Meikle, editor